• Phone :
    • (207) 874-8100
    • Address :
    • 353 Cumberland AvePortland, Maine 04101
    • Connect with us:

Presumpscot Teacher Is One of Sea Dogs’ “Starting 9”

this is content
Presumpscot Teacher Is One of Sea Dogs’ “Starting 9”
Posted on 06/04/2015
This is the image for the news article titled Presumpscot Teacher Is One of Sea Dogs’ “Starting 9”

Rebecca Maiorano, a teacher at Presumpscot Elementary School, has been selected to be one of the “Starting 9,”  a group of Maine’s top teachers who will be honored at a Portland Sea Dogs game Friday, June 5.

Maiorano, an ELL teacher at Presumpscot, and the other educators will be saluted by both the Sea Dogs and Unum at the annual Teachers’ Hall of Fame “Starting 9” recognition event at Hadlock Field.

The “Starting 9” program honors educators who make a difference in the lives of their students. A total of 10 teachers will be recognized at the event – the “Starting 9” and also their “team manager,” the 2015 Maine Teacher of the Year, Jennifer Dorman of Skowhegan Area Middle School.

The event begins at 6:40 p.m., with the introduction of the “Starting 9” on the field before the start of the game against the Bowie Baysox.

The nine teachers, as well as the Maine Teacher of the Year, will receive a check for $500, a personalized Sea Dogs uniform top, six tickets in the picnic area, as well as the opportunity to throw out the ceremonial first pitch.

“Having exceptional classroom teachers is the key component to improving student performance,” said Cary Olson Cartwright, Unum’s assistant vice president of corporate social responsibility. “And too often, the exceptional work they do goes unnoticed. As much as we’d like to, we can’t recognize all the wonderful teachers in Maine, but we want to recognize teachers who, in particular, have created innovative classroom lessons and engage parents, families and communities.”

In addition to Maiorano, the 2015 “Starting 9” team includes South Portland teacher Julie Lefebvre; Yarmouth teacher Caroline Wiggett; Windham teacher Jennifer Sullivan; Skowhegan teacher Deidre Mitchell; Bucksport teacher Joni Wardell; Buckfield teacher Ethan Wright; Waterville teacher Joe Haney; and Machias teacher Anthony Roy.

Unum asked the community to nominate teachers from a Maine public school or district who has made an extraordinary difference in the classroom. A committee selected the teachers based on their creativity and innovation in the classroom. Three teachers were chosen from each of the following grade levels: K–4, 5–8, and 9–12.