• Phone :
    • (207) 874-8100
    • Address :
    • 353 Cumberland AvePortland, Maine 04101
    • Connect with us:

Board Inaugurates New Members; Elects Chair

this is content
Board Inaugurates New Members; Elects Chair
Posted on 12/05/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Board Inaugurates New Members; Elects Chair

The Portland Board of Public Education held a ceremony to inaugurate its newest members on Dec. 3. The board also voted to select at-large board member Roberto Rodriguez as chair for the coming year.

Sworn in at the City Hall ceremony was one board member who was re-elected in the Nov. 6 election: at-large Representative Sarah Thompson, who will be serving her fifth term. Also inaugurated were two board newcomers: Abusana “Micky” Bondo, who was elected to the District 1 seat; and Emily Figdor, elected to the District 2 seat. School board members’ terms run for three years.

Also sworn were new student representatives to the board: Jondall Norris, representing Portland High School; Ali Abdirahman, representing Deering High School; and Joseph Inabanza, representing Casco Bay High School; as well as returning student representative Anna Power-Rokowski, representing the Portland Arts & Technology High School (PATHS). Also inaugurated was Portland Adult Education student Axels Samuntu, who will serve as the first PAE representative to the board.

The board also thanked outgoing student reps for representing their schools so ably over the past year: Saharla Farah of Deering High School; Isabel Clayter of Portland High School; and Tiana Urey of Casco Bay High School. Student school board reps typically serve for one year.

Also recognized and thanked were two board members stepping down as their terms conclude: District 1 Representative Jenna Vendil and District 2 Representative Holly Seeliger.

Watch the inauguration ceremony on YouTube: https://youtu.be/yeN3lFF1WOw